Some people believe that smart phones are destroying social interaction today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that smartphones have played a role in minimizing social interaction between individuals. This essay completely agrees that smartphones have negatively impacted our social lives to a great extent. To begin with, many people, nowadays, spend so much time on their mobile phones. They are constantly checking their phones for updates regarding their work, doing phone calls to their bosses or checking their social media timelines for updates. This is because they always receive important e-mails and try to keep up with the growing pressure of their work. Therefore, these devices can cause a major distraction and prevent socializing between individuals. For example, most of my family members waste so much time on their cellphones during family gatherings. As a result, this has placed a great strain on personal relationships. Another reason why smartphones have worsened day-to-day interactions is that many people prefer to call their friends instead of meeting them in person. The rapid development of instant messaging and video conference applications have made a lot of individuals avoid social gatherings. For instance, a recent survey revealed that over 50% of the individuals decide to send a text message or video call their friends instead of seeing them. As a consequence, this would lead to increased isolation between people, and face-to-face interaction will be reduced. In conclusion, I do believe that smartphones have isolated people compared to the past. Many people are becoming glued to their cell phones screens during family gatherings, and instant messaging applications and video chatting software have made so many people prefer being isolated instead of spending quality time with their friends and families.