Some people think that governments should spend money on railways. Others believe that there should be more investment into new roads. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The discussion about whether or not authorities should allocate money to the new roads construction rather than railways in today’s complex society raises a thorny question. Although it can be argued that more funds should spend on the development of new roads, I strongly believe that allocating resources to railways have more advantages. There are several reasons why society are in the opinion that the funds of governments should spend on the construction of new roads. First and foremost, it could be argued that building new roads could possibly reduce traffic congestions. It would appear that there might exist multiple roads to the differents destinations which allow people to select the nearest one for their arrival point. Viewed from this angle, if they have several options, in this case, not everyone will have to go the same way. Another important reason could be thought that using good materials in construction, proper traffic signs, lights, and pedestrian crossings would probably result in a reduction of traffic accidents. It is evident that the main reasons for accidents are non-well-constructed roads. For instance, if traffic lights have not been properly located the driver may have difficulties to see the person across the roads. Despite the above arguments, I tend to believe that the improvement of railways is more vitally important for society. Initially granted, it could be asserted that spending on railways should definitely improve the infrastructure of the city. It is evident that new railways in long-distance cities allow people to travel by spending less money and it is less likely to time-consuming. From this point of view, high-speed railways lead to communication of suburban areas with urban cities. For example, people who live far from the city centre can easily work in an urban city without the necessity of settle in this area. Consequently, this, in turn, this prevents urbanizations. In conclusion, despite the fact that there are several reasons for new roads constructions, I am inclined to consider that the pros of building railways outnumber cons.