One of the most important issues facing the world today is a shortage of food and some think genetically modified foods are a possible solution. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Lack of food availability is raising a significant concern in this temporary world, and there is a biology-related solution that scientists suggest is genetically modified foods. In my perspective, utilizing this biology technique will solve the shortage of foods because it eliminates some of the potential causes of this issue. To begin with, it is apparent that scarcity of foods appearing all over the world due to a drop in agricultural productivity. Insects and pests are the main factors for damaging crops, food production or parasitizing livestock, leading to a lack of annual harvests. Consequently, the markets will face an inadequate amount of fruits, vegetables or meat to meet customer’s demands. For example, mice and rats are common fears to most farmers because they eat seeds, young plants or even ripe fruits, resulting in heavy damage to the number of harvests. Another justification is that mosquitoes are intermediate agents who transmit diseases amongst the animals, particularly Swine Flu. In this following manner, these animals carrying pathogenic germs cannot be harvested for production, so a large volume of this protein type is impossible for consumption. Otherwise, there is a possible alternative to this problem which modifies the living organism’s genes to enhance yields through the introduction of resistance to diseases and boost productivity. Instead of using pesticides to kill insects and pets, scientists opt for genetic modification that inserts genes whose traits are better than normal ones in terms of quality of nutrition and rich in reproduction. Some argue that these modified products are the primary factor causing cancer, but there is no evidence so far to prove this claim according to the American Cancer Association. GMO corns, for instance, are now popular in today’s markets because they resist certain insects and pets but not humans. Therefore, genetically modified foods are forecasted to be efficient in the enhancement of harvests. In conclusion, coping with the edge of food existence, recent studies are suggesting to apply genetic modification as an ultimate solution which reduces insect damage to the crops and accelerates food proliferation.