Even though governments have worked hard to bring about improvements in the health care system, the overall standard of physical health in developed countries is decreasing. What are the potential reasons for this, and what are some of the long-term effects?

Advanced economies have prevalent physical fitness problems which consist of diabetes, heart attack, obesity, and so on. There exist several reasons contributing to these problems, as well as potentially irretrievable effects. Terrible modern lifestyles are to blame for the problems. Nowadays, people seem to be more sedentary than before due to stressful works or addictive video games. For example, according to recent research from Institute of Statistic Collection of China, students and employees who consecutively sit for a long time are three times more likely to catch chronic diseases such as obesity or heart attack that may be torture to most of the people than workers who tend to have a moderate break after long-time striving. Unbalanced diet, meanwhile, is the second factor that probably results in poor health. The recent mushrooming of fast-food restaurants have enticed many consumers to dine outside rather than cooking at home, which is far healthier. Nevertheless, these lifestyle choices can lead to irreversible repercussions. If people continue to maintain the unhealthy habits mentioned above, their offspring is prone to be just as unfit as they are. For instance, the descendants, affected by their irresponsible parents who take imbalanced diet and couch potato as daily rituals, will just imitate those behaviours, thus making them pass from one generation to the other. In addition to that, the lifestyles can cause increased demand for care services, consequently booming the costs of health care, which might burden governments and be unaffordable to ordinary citizens. In conclusion, these awful habits, ranging from unhealthy eating to being sedentary, have certainly brought about the decline in health standards. If not properly coped with, these problems could generate harmful long-term effects to future generations in light of disease and a higher cost of living.