Both government and individual are spending vast amount of money protecting animals and their habitats. This money could be better spent dealing with fundamental issues in society such as poverty and healthcare. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that more funds are allocated for conserving animals and their environments by the public and policymakers. Some people claim that such spending could be better utilised to address the basic needs of people. In my opinion, I would like to have a balanced approach as both issues are critical to resolve concerning the overall well-being. This essay will discuss my opinion in detail with relevant examples. On the one hand, protecting wildlife and their habitats is critical to maintaining a balance in our ecosystem. That is to say that if we are not protecting our forest and natural surroundings that might lead to the extinction of endangered species. For instance, a recent study found that Bengali tigers become one of the major extinct species because of deforestation in Northern India. Consequently, we might lose the history of those living beings, if the government and residents are not spending money to protect such creatures. On the other hand, it is vital that a budget should be allocated to resolve fundamental issues. In other words, authorities hold the accountability to address the immediate needs of the public such as homelessness and access to medical systems. If they fail to act on it, might have severe impacts on their citizens such as low standards of living, and prolonged health concerns. For example, a recent study found that an average of 40% of people in developing countries still have no access either to healthcare systems or housing while their governments's actively resolving national issues. In conclusion, the protection of animals as well as access to human needs are equally important problems for which the council must segment an equal portion of budgeted money to address them considering their potential impacts else it might pose a threat to society.