Some people say that online study is more effective than traditional learning. Do advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Learning types has become a debatable subject in the modern world. Whilst some argue that online study are more effective, others are against this notion. This essay will support that the advantages of remote learning outweigh the disadvantages. Firstly, studying online is more affordable for students and saves facility cost for universities. It is more effective for students to learn from the comfort of their home as this approach requires less expenses. Students are only required to attend classes using their laptops rather than commuting to the university thereby saving expenses. For instance, a educational survey shows that 70% of student opted to learn remotely inorder because of the cost constraints. Secondly, remote learning reduces the facility expenses for educational institutions because schools would then require less space to function. For example, the University of Melbourne saves millions of dollars on their facilities because most of their enrollees opt for off- campus courses. However, there is little evidence that suggest that home study is less effective as it reduces social interactions amongst individuals. Unlike campus learning were people are able to interact daily, off-campus learning requires little or no interaction with course mates thereby making people to become antisocial. Take for instance, a mental health survey showed that 65% of students became depressed because they had little friends. In summary, it can be seen that although there are drawbacks to learning from home, it is far more advantageous than campus study. It is therefore important for the government to encourage and support remote courses because of the cost effectiveness to the society at large.