Some believe that it is beneficial to show foreign films while others feel this can have a negative impact on local culture. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The question of whether showing film productions from other countries have merits or drawbacks is quite a controversial topic today. This essay will discuss both sides and provide evidence for the given reasons. In my view, foreign films are ought to be available to everyone. On the one hand, it is considered by some, that it is advantageous to display films from other nations. Firstly, I agree with this statement, since it provides a larger variety of shows. For instance, according to a recent study conducted by Harvard, eighty per cent of those asked stated that they would prefer not a local, but an international movie. Secondly, experiencing other cultures might be an option through watching films. Also, considering historical productions, it can give the viewer a great ton of knowledge and information. On the other hand, others argue that foreign movies have disadvantages. They might say that by watching foreign contents, the local and the national film industry are not supported. Furthermore, these disputed films might have a negative impact, due to the fact that every nation have different morals and it would result in a change of the culture, as it can be alluring to some. For example, in a recent article published by The New York Times wrote, that most movies are censored when shown in China and other Asian countries, as Chinese people are ought not to follow American scrupulous. To conclude, the benefits and the drawbacks regarding foreign film productions are widely disputed. I do believe that it can be advantageous as long as it is not harmful to the local film industry.