Online shopping is significantly increasing. What effects does this have on the environment and the types of jobs required?

Nowadays, many people are buying things from websites. Due to the ease of getting the stuff's doorstep, online shopping is widely accepted. However, it has a detrimental effect on the environment due to the use of non-recyclable packing material. Also, there is an exploitation of the delivery person in terms of labour, whilst paying them a small amount. One major harm of website shopping is the material used for transporting the product. In other words, goods are packed with plastic covering, which is safe and waterproof preventing a product from getting damaged. But, most often the plastic bag is dumped by the customer in the garbage. As plastic is not recycled, a lot of waste keeps on accumulating from these polybags. Later, it is consumed by animals creating choking hazards, and taking their life away. Another reason is the exploitation of workers in terms of the laborious task and keeping them on low pay. Workers have to commute all day from one place to another, climbing stairs, lifting heavy parcels to the door of people. It's tiring for people as it is resulting in causing lower back and spinal issues due to the picking up certain parcels like a sewing machine, microwave, etc, alone. Even after completing monthly targets, quick delivery feedback from customers, the delivery men are paid very less. A recent news article published in Times of India appreciated the dedication of timely dispatch of goods by a parcel man, during heavy rains in India. This in a way is taking undue advantage of the hard work on the verge of their health. To conclude, online shopping is increasing tremendously as it saves time as compared to going to a mall or a shop. It is harming via polluting surroundings with the plastic waste as well as paying minimal compromising the health of their workers.