Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Survival of the non-native overseas without the knowledge of the local language creates a barrier in connecting with folks and in performing day to day activities. I completely agree to the statement cited above and this essay will discuss the issues faced by the individual residing in abroad without the command over the native speech. Firstly, staying at a distant place away from the family and friends has various difficulty including loneliness. To cope up with this issue, people required to be sociable. Connecting with people and finding new friends is the only way to cope up with the issue, which is only possible after having some knowledge of the local wording. Furthermore, lack of communication with the folks and incapability to understand them creates hurdles in getting connected socially. Consequently, which results in mental issues such as anxiety, stress and depression. For instance, recent studies had shown that around 70% of the migrators which were incapable express and to connect with natives were found to be victims of mental illness. Secondly, unable to speak and understand foreign people while residing not only cause social troubles but also many practical problems. Particularly, in case of the medical emergency individual must have some basic knowledge local way of communication so to inform the doctor about the exact pain the patient is having so as a doctor can diagnose and treat. For example, one of my friends residing in Denmark had a severe stomach ache for which she consulted the doctor but failed to explain exactly what happened and the medical history of her ache. Subsequently, resulted in getting numerous examinations done and delay in the treatment. To conclude, in my view, it is practically a serious problem for visitors to survive in a country where everyone uses a foreign way to communicate with each other. Some information and basic requirements of international language must be gained prior to visiting, to avoid physical as well as mental troubles.