Online shopping is significantly increasing. What effects does this have on the environment and the types of jobs required?

Nowadays, due to the ubiquity of a wide range of e-commerce products within one roof, as a result many people are buying things from the web. Due to the ease of getting the product with one click at your doorstep, online shopping has become widely popular. However, it has had a detrimental effect on the environment due to the use of non-recyclable packing material. Also, there is an exploitation of the shipment person in terms of labour, whilst paying them a small amount. Firstly, one major harm in e-shopping is the material used for transporting the product. In other words, goods are packed with plastic covering which, although saves the product from getting damaged, is often dumped by the customer in the garbage. Because, plastics are not easily recyclable, a lot of the waste keeps on accumulating from these polybags. Later, it is consumed by animals creating choking hazards, and taking their lives away. Therefore, extensive use of packaging material in items bought from online stores is directly affecting the nature and the people involved in the online economy. Another reason is the exploitation of workers in terms of the laborious task and keeping them on low pay. Workers have to commute all day from one place to another, climb stairs, lift heavy parcels to the door of people. It's exhausting for the delivery partners as it results in the lower back and spinal issues due to the picking up certain heavy parcels like a sewing machine, microwave, etc, alone. Even after completing monthly targets and quick delivery feedback from customers, the courier men are paid very less. For instance, a recent news article published in Times of India appreciated the dedication of timely dispatch of goods by parcel men, even during heavy rains in India. This in a way depicts how companies are taking undue advantage of the people in this ecosystem at the cost of the workers' health. To conclude, online shopping is increasing tremendously because it saves time as compared to going to a mall or a shop. However, it is not only harming the environment by pollution from packaging materials but also affecting the people involved in its operations negatively.