Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays there is a multitude of options for governments to defend against crime. While some believe that the best approach to reduce the rime rate is to send offenders to jail for a longer period of time, other people argue that there are different sufficient ways to stop the growing crime tendency. This essay will examine both points of view, and I will also explain why I think it is better to choose other methods to address this social issue. To begin with, the nuance which contributes to the beneficial aspects of the longer sentence alternative is the fact that such a future option can potentially stop offenders from committing a crime. In other words, before performing an inappropriate action, criminals will analyse which kind of punishment they will get after, and they can change their decision at all. As a case in point, in Russia, the government has recently accepted a new regulation, which was aimed at reducing the number of car accidents with drunk people, so they have increased the sentence for the same from three months to one year. As a result, it helped to reduce the rate of accidents on roads within the country. On the other hand, there is an opinion that instead of giving a longer sentence, it is better to provide criminals with valid support from social organisations. I strongly believe that offenders require social help after they commit misconduct, and it could potentially shift their directions in the future. As a great example, a special project was launched in California several years ago, the main goal of which was to help criminals to find their place in society, and several government's and private institutions organised special training sessions from a variety of spheres to teach offenders with new skills. Thus, after leaving jail, many of them could find a valid job and become a part of a healthy society. In conclusion, we are all too familiar with such a possessing social issue as increasing misconduct rate. Some people claim that the most sufficient way to tackle the complication is to put offenders in prison for a longer period of time, but I think that the launching of proactive educational programmes for criminals is a better option to defend violation.