The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is been argued that the government should stop funding arts sector as it is a money wastage. Instead,public sectors should receive more funds. I do not agree with the statement because arts only have a small proportion of budget which is insignificant to consider for other public sectors and moreover, arts enrich people’s life quality. In this essay, reasons to fund art sector will be discussed. To begin with, if the budget is reviewed, its clearly visible that arts do not have any significant number to consider diluting it. Even though the artistry’s funding is given to any other services, it will make no difference to them. For example, in the recent study done by Oxford University, London eludes that on an average artwork’s funding only sum up 0.5% in a nation’s budget. Thus, depriving artistry of funding will not any major difference to other services. Furthermore, Creative artwork enriches people’s life quality. Masterpieces give people a different dimension of thinking to improve their behaviour and eventually life. In addition, it can motivate people to reach new highs in their career. For instance, master paintings of artists provoke a different thought to question the rituals of society to enhance peace and harmony of society. Hence, funding craft is important as it improves the quality of life. In summary, even though the public services comfort human life in many ways, music and other creative fields boost mental health. Public fields are already well funded and artwork covers a minute portion of the state’s budget. In my opinion, authorities should keep the artistry’s funds the same as earlier.