Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days news channels lay more emphasis on problematic and crisis instead of the positive aspects of the world. This way has been opposed by the people, they think that negative news may have detrimental effects on society and people's mental health. In my opinion, I believe that this could have both positive and negative consequences. On the one hand, media creates awareness among citizens of the global problems by bringing them in the limelight. For instance, difficulties faced by poor people especially children due to lack of accessible basic resources and facilities. If media will stop broadcasting these issues nobody will ever come to know about the harsh situations from which people are going through. In fact, the more media will broadcast the serious issues the more people and the government will get serious towards dealing with them. It was media because of which people came to know about the global warming and exploitation of natural resources. Resulting which most people took an initiative on individual levels by reducing the use of diesel vehicles. On the other hand, privatisation has reduced the reliability of information communicated by the media. Some news channels have been taken over by politicians and corporates. As a result, the information shown on these channels is more politically centred involving criminal activities and fights and arguments between the parties. This kind of activities adversely affects people's mental level and they resist watching the news. Furthermore, violence and crime involving activities might have a negative influence on youngsters. As they usually find these type of news attractive and amusing, and it's easy for them to get involved in such activities. To conclude, media is the only source of information for individuals and although showing problematic content have several negative results, I still believe this trend is beneficial and have more positive consequences than the negatives ones.