Some people say the government is wasting money on arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The arts are both a window into a culture's history and an expression of the unique personalities of the citizens of a country. Some people argue that a nation has more important issues to deal with before it can devote resources to the arts. It seems reasonable to me, however, I believe that government funding for the arts is essential and should be maintained. It is widely believed that investing in the arts is inappropriate for national progress and citizen welfare. Many people propose that the available funds should be used to improve infrastructures. For instance, the allocated investment can be used to build a strong foundation for healthcare facilities, transportation networks, educational opportunities, and other similar institutions which will help in better transportation to previously unavailable areas and more medical attention for those who are sick. Better educational opportunities for kids should be the main focus. Many governments, in the eyes of these individuals, simply cannot afford to support the art as it is a luxury. On the other hand, the arts are just as significant as other areas where investment is needed. The government funding for arts enriches the country's cultural heritage and boosts national identity. To be precise, the UK's support for the Tate Modern has transformed it into a world-renowned institution, attracting millions of visitors annually. As a result, this not only promotes tourism but also provides a platform for contemporary artists, fostering creativity and innovation, which are essential for a vibrant society. In conclusion, the arts benefit both individuals and society. Thus, government arts funding is not wasteful.