Some people say that in our modern age, it is unnecessary to teach children about the skills of handwriting. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued by some individuals that in this contemporary world it is not essential for children to learn handwriting skills. I agree to this view point to a certain extent because even in school children have started to use laptops in recent times, but we cannot deny the fact that handwriting is also an important skill in everyone’s life. To commence with, after the advent of technology, in schools and colleges students are using electronic devices such as laptops and tablets to jot down their notes. In addition to this, children feel this method saves a lot of time when compared with the traditional usage of pen. Moreover, children who lack legible handwriting believe these electronic methods are convenient and helps in maintaining their standard. They like to keep up with the world’s pace. For example, in India, many state governments are issuing free laptops to students in their sectors to compete with today’s real world. Even though all these are acceptable, basic handwriting art should be taught to them as it said that one’s personality can be judged by the way they write. Although, in many places we use digital types, in certain government sectors it is essential to oblige some things in written format. For instance, in sub-registrar offices while registering houses or plots it is compulsory to write our consent in traditional pen and paper. Though, we can save everything in our gadgets, written scripts value more even in these days. In some fields, handwriting plays a significant role as it depicts the nature of an individual like in government written exams, one's handwriting should be legible and neat as it conveys that the individual is a sincere and a disciplined person. Therefore, it is an important skill that cannot be omitted in children’s lives. In conclusion, some think that it is not necessary to make children learn handwriting in this modern era, I agree to this to a certain extent as everything digitalised now, but handwriting cannot be neglected completely in children’s life as it represents one’s personality.