Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, it creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In today's world, Collision between countries has reached its peak. The difference in culture has led to a more diverse set of beliefs between countries. That being said, I don't believe international tourism does not have any effect on the matter. On one hand, There is the belief that friction causes resentment. Because people would go and travel to different countries, They have more chances to have problems with someone from a different nationality. As an example, If you are a native of a country which has been under suppression by Great Britain and you decide to travel to the United Kingdom, If you encounter a public statue of one of their generals who has been a key figure in the enslavement of your country, You might grow angry by their actions and hate the United Kingdom for it. While the previous point still stands, Tourism is not the leading factor in this case. Such information could be gathered via the Internet. So then the knowledge mentioned in the previous paragraph would be available through Wikipedia or such sources. Also, much of such data would have been taught throughout Schools and through education systems. All in all, While this is a very complex topic to discuss, I don't think in any way international tourism could have any effect on this delicate matter. As a matter of fact, I believe tourism leads to people becoming closer to each other and might even lead to mending some of these old wounds and this might lead to a healthier relationship between the countries.