More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems over reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution

There have been growing discussions on the transportation system in various countries especially in developing countries. The over-reliance on personal cars as the major means of movement has created several problems in the society. This essay aims to discuss some of the problems and also suggest relevant solutions for curbing this burden. To start with, there are two major problems caused by relying on private vehicles and they are increased traffic and higher accidence rate. Firstly, over-dependence on this means increases the traffic situation in the country,especially in major cities. Take, for instance, a study of one of the most populous cities in Nigeria which showed that 80% of Lagosians got to work at least 30 minutes late due to the traffic they faced whilst commuting to their offices daily. Another issue is the alarming accident rates in areas caused by nationals depending largely on their own vehicles. A recent survey in India shows that there are high accident rates in areas without alternative forms of movement. Therefore, it is important to address the issues in a timely manner to reduce the negative impact on urban locations. To address the negative impact raised, the government should provide other means of transportation and also subsidize their cost. To begin with, providing alternative transportation such as train, buses and bikes will help in addressing the burden on individual's cars. For example, an online survey in Kenya showed that there was a 35% reduction of vehicles on the road due to the revamp of their rail sector. In addition, their government also introduced a subsidy on public transport cost for citizens thereby encouraging them to use this type of transport system. Taking these recommendations into cognisance will have a positive impact on communities at large. In conclusion, there are major concerns arising from relying on personal cars such as accident and congestion. Therefore, it is important for the society to considers making other movement types available to the public as well as subsidising the cost of commuting. It is predicted that this move will have a long term effect on societies.