Some people think that children should be taught to be competitive in school. Others however say that corporation and teamwork in schools are more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Although it is sometimes thought that schools ought to teach children to compete, other people believe that the focus should be on cooperation. In my opinion, I consider, that competition helps children learn the most important skills for the future. On the one hand, some persons think that youngsters who learn to compete against each other often do better in school and I agree. In other words, the competition between students motivates them to excel in their studies or tasks which, consequently, produces better academic performance and results. For example, students generally apply themselves and work harder when they are in direct competition with their classmates. Furthermore, been driven to achieve is vital in order to succeed later in life when as adults, they must compete against others in the job market. on the other hand, it is often believed that it is better if the emphasis at school is on cooperation with others. As individuals, we do not live, work or socialize apart from others, so learning how to work alongside other people ought to be taught from childhood. Without these skills, children would lose the ability to communicate with each other or know how to deal with confrontations and conflicts in a constructive way. Another reason why team skills are useful for juveniles is that they can learn how to negotiate to complete a task. This is an essential skill to learn for a better tomorrow. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinion, I think that young ones stand a better chance to succeed both in school and also later in a lifetime if they are encouraged to compete against each other.