In some societies the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree?

Crimes are becoming the centre point of attraction as it is growing day by day in some societies and therefore it is argued that whether teenagers should get adult punishment or not. I completely disagree with this statement and think everyone should be treated according to their age, there should not be the same punishment for all criminals. First and foremost, youngsters and adults have different mindsets, which mean they can not get the same punishment. To explain, a mature person has more knowledge about the wrong or right thing as compared to the children, hence, punishment should be based on the nature of crime and age. For example, if a robbery is conducted by a child, society can not put him directly behind the sentence as he may not be aware that conducting robbery is a misdeed but on the other side, if the same crime is done by an adult, people call the police as everyone knows that he has done this act with all his willing power and planning. Ultimately, a child could do criminal activities under the influence of other people so there should not the same punishment for all. Moreover, punishment for criminal activities can ruin the children's future. Because having a name in the criminal’s list could ruin his future, as no one wants to be a friend with a criminal or he has to face difficulties to get admission in a well-known school or college, which will further encourage him to do wrong activities in the future. To illustrate, an uneducated individual who feels lonely and face aggression from society are more likely to commit violations other than those people who are welcomed by society. Hence, it will not be fair for a growing youngster to have the same punishment, as people can try to explain about good or bad things to a child instead of giving him a direct punishment. To conclude, a child ’s mindset, growth and his upcoming future should be considered first before deciding about punishment, as a child can change himself if his energy should be converted into the right direction.