Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

In this contemporary era, more waste products are being produced in many nations around the globe. This essay will discuss, from my perspective, the causes of this problem and provide some possible solutions to help overcome it. To begin with, there are many factors which contribute to the increasing amount of waste products. The major reason for this may be that we are probably living in the era of consumerism. To illustrate, individuals tend to consume more than they did in the past. For example, it has been proven that the amount of food leftovers is increasing exponentially among people. This is mainly because people not only tend to cook excess food but also they buy more fruits and vegetables than what they need. Another possible reason is the increasing population globally. Obviously, the more people living in our planet, the more rubbish will they produce, even if they try to reduce it. Although this issue is a cause for concern, it is not, fortunately, an insurmountable problem. The best approach to deal with it is that the government should make awareness campaigns to educate citizens about the negative effects of this huge amount of rubbish on the environment. Another possible way to help mitigate this problem is enforcing recycling programs. Consequently, the increasing amount of rubbish can be beneficial in many ways after being recycled instead of being a threatining problem. In conclusion, consumerism rates and the increasing population might be the main causes for the huge amount of waste products. However, I believe that by making awareness campaigns and enforcing recycling programs the government can tackle this issue.