Some people think it is a good thing for senior managers to have much higher salaries than other workers in a company.  To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, in order to retain and attract more talents, many companies choose to increase the salaries of their senior managers. Some people argue this phenomenon has more benefits and I tend to agree with this view. One main reason in favour of this opinion is that higher money is a kind of recognition for the abilities of department leaders and it is conducive to motivating them to continue devoting much time and energy to their work, which is beneficial for the growth of corporate profits. Besides, higher wages for the superiors of a corporation is an effective method to retain them and lower the turnover. In other words, if a firm did not increase the monthly income of its distinguished talents, these individuals would be more likely to present their resignations or be poached by counterparts, which could lead to considerable loss. However, it is undeniable that much higher salaries for senior managers may hinder corporate growth and development. This is because the income gap between superiors and inferiors is significant. Therefore, lower working efficiency and productivity of average employees may be quite common as well as ubiquitous and there even exists resentment among them. These consequences are bound to be an obstacle to companies. On the other hand, the huge income difference may become the motivation of some ambitious workers. This may stimulate them to work harder and even overtime in order to be more sophisticated than their colleagues, be promoted and earn higher salaries. In conclusion, I tend to agree with the view that it is a good thing for senior managers to have much higher wages than other workers in a company, since this is a good way to encourage both top managers and normal workers. Nevertheless, it is noticeable that the gap between them should be reasonable and acceptable.