Some people claim that public museums and art galleries will not be needed because people can see historical objects and works of art by using a computer

There is a common impression that public museums and art galleries are not needed as people can see historical objects and works of art on a computer. However, I agree that both the sides of this view have benefits and they are discussed further. Firstly, not all objects displayed in such institutions can be visualized in a computer as those machines can only provide us with an abstract layer of visual and audio experience. Consequently, we would lose out on the sense of smell and touch if every object of history is kept only in digitized format. For example, the Museum of Hyderabad displayed a model of periscope that is made of Iron ore and copper materials and it is available for visitors to touch and smell it. Thus, such museums provide us with the option of experiencing historical items in a way that is not possible using a computer. Secondly, We can save the entire history of ancient civilizations in digital format and preserve them for eternity. However, the objects kept in a museum tend to decay but computers can ensure that there is no such thing when stored in digital format. Furthermore, using computers, we can visualize and create objects based on an actual small part of the entire fossil. For instance, JURRASIC PARK movie was created based on visualizations of dinosaurs which do not exist in today's world. This was made possible by using computer graphics software that can predict their actual size based on existing parts of their teeth that were discovered recently. Hence, Computers can not only help us to create historical objects which do not have a complete physical reference in the current world but also aid us to preserve the virtual images of real objects without any time-based damage like decay or structural decomposition. To conclude, some people prefer to see historical objects only in a computer. Therefore they should ban public museums and art galleries. However, with the examples and explanations provided, I fully agree that there are benefits on both sides of the view. So it is recommended to keep those museums and art galleries as well as save the digitals versions of every historical object in a computer.