Some people think that one of the best way to solve global environment problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People’s opinions differ on whether increasing the money for buying fuel for vehicles is one of the best solutions for tackling environmental concerns. I believe this method can address the problems of air and noise pollution when leading individuals’ choices to public transport and vehicles that require renewable energy. The prominent reason for considering the fuel cost increase as an effective method is the decrease in noise pollution. When there is a rise in the money for purchasing fuel, people will opt for public transport such as trams or buses rather than private vehicles to lower the spending on commuting. As a result, there will be fewer vehicles on the streets; hence, reducing traffic congestion. This can mitigate the effects of noise pollution since there will no longer be any sounds of vehicles honking in peak hours. Another reason for applying this solution is to alleviate air pollution. With higher charges for fuel, society will utilize the use of renewable energy, not least for vehicles using this. Therefore, there will be less exhaust fumes released to the environment, moderating the impacts of air pollution. Japan, for example, which has one of the highest quality atmospheres in the world, has imposed a higher fee on fuel for many years, decreasing the number of harmful gases from petrol vehicles. In brief, increasing the cost of fuel can reduce traffic jams and exhaust fumes; therefore, mitigating the impacts of noise and air pollution. For these reasons, this measure should be justified as one of the most effective ways to tackle environmental issues.