Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A highly controversial issue relates to whether the length of prison leads criminality's rate to reduction or if there are other measures to be taken into account. In this essay, I will examine both points of view and explain why I believe that the arguments for alternative ways to reduce the number of criminals are stronger. It is commonly believed that reducing crime rates requires longer life sentences. The main reason for believing this is because as long as the criminals are in jail they will not threaten the society, which is a conservative thought in some countries; therefore the number of crimes would be drastically reduced. It is often argued that prisons provide work during the criminal staying, which is more common in developing countries; thereby, when they were released they would be able to find a new role instead of resort to criminality again. For instance, in China, some prisoners are forced to work on manufacturing toys to exportation which contributes to the country's economy. On the other hand, others believe that education is the most effective method for criminality's reduction. This notion is due to the fact that when opportunities are given to individuals, which is scientifically proved, they avoid going to criminality. This is because most criminals do not choose this livelihood, however, no options were offered since they have a lower level of education. Thus, the work environment rules out any possibility to give them a chance which paves the way for illegal actions since they need to survive. To illustrate, a good example is Sweeden, where is required that former prisoners must attend school before being totally free and private companies are enticed to hire them. In conclusion, both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I believe that education far outweighs any other minor benefit that longer life sentence might bring. This is because it has been proved that with a solid educational system individuals have more opportunities in life, as a consequence they would prefer to have a normal life to a criminal one.