New technologies and ways of buying and selling goods are transforming the lives of consumers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

A statement asserts that new technologies and the market system are changing the lives of customers. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with this statement. I believe that this digital era has hugely transformed consumers' ways of shopping. The availability of online market platforms and virtual banking contributes to the shift in buyers' behaviours. Firstly, technological advancements have given the opportunities for entrepreneurs to initiate the creation of online market applications. These platforms provide a new space for retailers to sell their products virtually. Therefore, with global accessibility, individuals will easily search for their targeted items digitally and purchase them directly without having to visit any physical store. This condition further makes consumers feel convenient and transforms their ways of purchasing goods. Secondly, virtual bankings affect the reliance of customers on their smartphones to pay for their goods. This option is quite preferable compared to reaching an automated teller machine which requires plenty of time and effort. In fact, QRIS, which is a barcode-based transaction system which is available in most mobile bankings, has vastly contributed to a fewer ATM utilization in Indonesia. Furthermore, most markets and shops already provide this payment option. Hence, the figure of buyers that choose this method has elevated. In conclusion, the transformation of consumers' lives did happen due to furtherance of technology and transactional interactions, such as the development of digital markets and virtual banks. Moreover, with the speed of today's technology, it is possible that more noticeable advancements might be introduced in the years ahead.