Some people say that only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reason why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

A highly controversial issue relates to whether learning a second language only worth it for employment and travelling purposes or if there are other important reasons to do so. In this essay, I will examine both points of view and explain why the arguments for learning for exceptional purposes are stronger. It is commonly believed that aiming to learn a second language is always related to work or international trips. The main reason for believing this is that most people need to learn an international language in order to deal international business since most of the largest companies have branches all around the world, which requires that their employees speak another language. Secondly, It is also argued that travellers are required to knowledge at least one language when travelling abroad, which is most of the time a commercial language like English, in order to enjoy their leisure time while abroad. For instance, if a person goes to Brazil and does not talk Portuguese, then he will make himself understood since he could talk in English considering in that country English is considerably well-spoken. On the other hand, some believe that learning a second language plays other important roles. It is often claimed that it can also be used for studies purposes. As the world is becoming globally connected, the number of people intending to study abroad have been rising at an alarming rate, which can help society's development. This is due to the fact that the experience of studying in another country considerably raise people's skills, which involves personal and professional ones such as independence and money management. For instance, once travellers are abroad they wind up relying on their own to get themselves understood or asking for help ranging from simple duties like asking for a coffee to looking for a part-time position. In conclusion, both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I believe that the knowledge of a second language can pave the way for other benefits than just work or travelling purposes like studies or enhance cultural behaviour.