Many offenders commit more crime after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Reducing the crime rate is the main agenda in most of the countries. Repeated crimes are increasing, especially the crimes committed by the criminals after coming out of their first jail term. This is mainly because of the lack of employment opportunities to an individual with the criminal background and not being accepted by the family once they are out of prison. The government should take some decisive steps to help these offenders after serving their term. Firstly, the majority of them who commit a misdeed will be suffering from some kind of mental disorder. Once they are in the jail for committing any wrongdoing, it is always better to provide them, the necessary rehabilitation sessions so that they realise their mistake and start a new life when they are set free. Besides, an employer should not discriminate such an individual and should be given equal opportunities to get a job. For instance, many companies do not allow a candidate with a criminal record to even attend an interview, which is not fair. After repeated rejections at the interviews, these people are left with no other option than committing a crime for survival. Besides, many families do not accept the person after serving their prison term. This makes the person even more dejected and depressed in life and, as a result, will be drawn to the life of crime again. However, with proper care and introducing certain regulations this can be reduced. Frequent counselling when they are in the prison for their first crime will fetch better results than any other measures. Providing rehabilitation sessions when needed will help to bring a change in their thought process. In addition, the concerned authorities should bring certain regulations to provide employment opportunities to offenders who are out of jail. Furthermore, watching them cautiously for a certain period of time when they are free will yield better results in stopping/reducing crime. In conclusion, one will get involved in criminal activities when there is no other option to survive or when he/she is mentally disturbed and depressed in life. Proper care and certain modifications in the regulations to aid such people in leading a normal life will be beneficial in a long run.