Social Media has helped us increase our virtual networks. This has isolated us physically, making us socially awkward in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

Due to the advancement of technology, there is a growing dependence on social media. Although, this this has expanded our social network, but it has also promoted a tendency of self-isolation and social awkwardness during physical interactions. I completely agree with this statement and this essay will give relevant reasons to support my opinion. To begin with, even though the continuous use of social media platforms help in virtually connecting us with the world, it has also resulted in changing our behavioral habit by making it difficult to interact in person. Furthermore, virtual platforms are extremely addictive which have reduced our concentration levels of participating around people and encouraged solitude. For instance, Facebook and Instagram users are often observed posting pictures and videos during a live gathering rather than enjoying the moment with people present during that occasion; such situations usually occur during moments of total silence. Secondly, social media is often misleading and fails to portray reality and may not always depict who we really are. As a result, this might lead to embarrassing moments during a meeting because of which virtual platform users tend to away from a face to face interaction. For example, profiles created on dating and matrimonial websites cannot completely depict who these people really are and therefore, only a non-virtual meet can reveal their true personality and character. In conclusion, although social media platforms help us connect with many people virtually, it not only fails to represent our true identity and individuality, but it also adversely impacts our ability to socialize in person.