Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Others believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A group of individuals think that allowing youngsters to express their preferences on everyday subjects such as food, clothing and entertainment might lead them to be arrogant members of society, whereas others believe that children should be allowed to make decisions about matters that are associated with them. I strongly believe the latter view can be efficient under crucial circumstances. On one hand, putting children in charge of making small decisions such as wearing the outfit they like to a party can be an essential practice for making life-changing decisions like choosing a major at college in the future. Not only this method can guide them to boost their self-confidence as they are not dependent on their parents, but also makes them more responsible towards the decisions they make. They learn every decision has consequences and try to decide wisely. However, what if they want to wear a Batman costume to a party or have fast food while their parent has tried to make a nutritious meal? Can this method make children just think of their own wishes? This view is not likely to happen as long as parents set boundaries for the dependent choices their child makes. Therefore, children ’s decision-making should be thoroughly supervised. Parents should be able to build up a relationship made of negotiations. This is when parents should give their offspring the vision they do not have - due to an obvious lack of knowledge and experience. This might sound challenging, but it absolutely has its own benefits of teaching children to discuss their needs, boosting their skills in order to be persuasive and finally being able to deal with opposition. To sum up, considering the arguments above, I think children should be able to make their own decisions related to everyday matters as long as it is happening under the supervision of their parents and knowing not all decisions, they make can be viable.