Now a days, public transport prices are constantly increasing. Why do you think it is happening? How can this problem be solved.

It is been observed nowadays that accessing public transit systems are becoming dearer with every passing day. There are obvious reasons for this; however, the solutions are available on hand which could make this mode affordable. Firstly, the constant rise in the tariff of fossil fuels has led to a steady increase in the fares of public transport. The oil is a non-renewable source of energy which once depleted cant be created. For example, according to a research, owing to the petrol price rise, the London tube has increased its fares by 10 per cent every year. Thus, such an increase in the amount of commodities used will ultimately leed to a price hike for public transport. Secondly, there is a huge increase in the population in big cities, to accommodate this the government has to raise the expenditure on a variety of sources, primarily infrastructure and public transit. The increasing expense is then retrieved from the public in form of an increase in fares for their use. For instance, the modernisation of city buses in Mumbai has led to many exciting new features, like air-conditioning, touch screens. etc. but with the new features fees are now up by 15 per cent for such buses. One of the solutions to the problem is finding an alternative fuel source for mass transit. If the government can negate the overhead of the single most expensive part of public transit i.e, fuel, they can save a lot of money and pass on the benefit to the travellers. To illustrate, there is an increasing trend of electric buses in India nowadays, which are environment-friendly and are quite cheap in the long run to the government. Thus, it would solve the problem of fuel price fluctuations and the cost incurred to the authorities. In conclusion, I believe that public transport is a quite essential part of a growing economy, whose rate has to be controlled to a greater extent by the government by deploying innovative measures.