In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, choosing between further education or work training has been a constant debate. In various countries, there is an increase in high school graduates applying for vocational schools instead of college. While vocational education enables people to be equipped with skills needed for their future careers, I believe that higher learning comes with more benefits in the future. On one hand, attending academies that allow students to learn specific skill sets needed for a position in the work industry gives them an advantage in applying for those jobs. Guidance from instructors to perfect those skills can give them an edge as they already have years of experience, which makes their resume stand out amongst those who have never had any exposure. Polytechnics in Singapore equip their students with loads of experiences, such as work placements with companies and hands-on practicals in schools. Thus, this increases their chances of attaining a position in a company right after graduation, with some already having industry offers before leaving school. On the other hand, going for vocational training that only focuses on a skill set explicitly for a job type does not carry any long-term benefits. Higher schooling is a symbol of advanced knowledge and credentials, and therefore university undergraduates have access to more specialized roles, better salaries, and more chances of promotions due to their displaying their capabilities. Moreover, employers generally favour employees with a higher degree of qualification. They view one's degree as a marker of ability and potential, and this can sway hiring decisions. Many employers view college graduates as committed to learning and education, thereby associating them with being capable and driven to do their best, In conclusion, while I believe that work-based training can boost resumes to find opportunities right after leaving school, I agree that getting a university degree is bound to have more lasting benefits in the future, such as better career prospects and promotions