Now a days, public transport prices are constantly increasing. Why do you think it is happening? How can this problem be solved.

It has been observed nowadays that accessing public transit systems is becoming dearer with every passing day. There are obvious reasons for this; however, the solutions are available on hand which could make this mode affordable. Firstly, the constant rise in the tariff of fossil fuels has led to a steady increase in the fares of public travel. The oil is a non-renewable source of energy which once depleted cant be created. For example, according to research, owing to the petrol price rise, the London tube has increased its fares by 10 per cent every year. Thus, such a hike in the prices of commodities used will ultimately lead to a price hike for public transport. Secondly, there is a huge upsurge in the population in big cities, to accommodate this the law has to increase the expenditure on a variety of sources, primarily infrastructure and public transport. The increasing expense is then retrieved from the public in form of an increase in fares for their use. For instance, the modernisation of city buses in Mumbai has led to many exciting new features, like air-conditioning, touch screens. etc. but with the new features prices are now up by 15 per cent for such buses. One of the solutions to this problem is finding an alternative fuel source for mass travel. If the government can negate the overhead of the single most expensive part of public transport i.e, fuel, they can save a lot of money and pass on the benefit to the travellers. To illustrate, there is an increasing trend of electric buses in India nowadays, such buses are environment-friendly as no pollution, and are quite cheap in the long run to the authority. Thus, it would solve the problem of fuel price fluctuations and the cost incurred to the authorities. In conclusion, I believe that public transportation is a quite essential part of a growing economy, whose rates have to be controlled to a greater extent by the government by deploying innovative measures.