Some people believe that it is better to live and work in a vertical city with multiple tall buildings, as compared to a horizontal city with fewer tall buildings. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that the construction of high-rise buildings has become a relatively new phenomenon in many cities around the world. IN MY VIEW, these tall structures offer a variety of benefits to residents. There are two main reasons for defending why living in a vertical city is the optimal choice. First, high-rise buildings provide a sensible answer to the problem of urban housing; for example, in Singapore and Hongkong where land is scarce and its price is astronomical, the government encounters difficulty in housing a growing population. These apartment buildings can effectively accommodate more people in the city. Second, the population density of the high-rise buildings encourages more facilities and services for residents, such as public transport and sports centres which are aimed at these communities. On the other hand, opponents may argue that the traditional type of city is a better place to live in. Many people would prefer a traditional house with a courtyard or a garden because it allows people a sense of belonging to nature, especially the elderly. Traditional houses are usually designed with an opening space in front of the door so that people from within a community can easily communicate with their neighbours. Furthermore, it is also safer for the low-rise building occupants to live and work, compared to living in a tall apartment or an office building, in case a fire or an emergency occurs. In conclusion, choosing an ideal place to live depends on a combination of factors, among which there are convenience and affordability. I believe high-rise buildings are a very positive solution to the prospective problems resulting from urban development.