Some people believe that it is better to live and work in a vertical city with multiple tall buildings, as compared to a horizontal city with fewer tall buildings. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is a well-known fact that living in cities surrounded by skyscrapers become a new phenomenon around the world. However, there are cons and pros for this. In my view, these tall buildings bring a great number of advantages to people. There are two main reasons for defending why residence in a vertical city is optimistic. Firstly, high-rise buildings provide a way better infrastructures; for example, in Seoul where a quarter of the total Koreans is lived, this capital city encounters a heavy traffic jam during rush hour every day. Public transports such as subway, public buses, or trams can effectively disperse its transportation. What is more, tall buildings offers a large number of residency. That is to say, these buildings are able to accommodate more people and eventually solve the problem of the high density of the population. On the other hand, opponents may argue that living in low house villages is better. First of all, many people still prefer a traditional house with their own front yards or gardens because a crowded city with skyscrapers does not have enough space for gardening as well as it looks desolate. Furthermore, it is also safer for the lowe-rise building occupants to live and work, compared to living in a tall apartment or an office building, in case an emergency occurs such as a fire or a collapse. In conclusion, choosing an ideal place to live depends on a combination of factors, among which there are convenience and affordability. I believe high-rise buildings are a very positive solution to the prospective problems resulting from urban development.