Social Media has helped us increase our virtual networks. This has isolated us physically, making us socially awkward in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

With the advent of the internet, communication among people has significantly increased. This development has provided an option to social network websites in offering facilities to users for making friends without even meeting them physically. However, this facility has resulted in developing a socially weak society. Owing to this, I agree to a large extent that social media is the main culprit of putting a person in a socially unusual situation. On the one hand, one of the merits of social sites is that an individual can make many friends. To explain, as millions of people are using such websites, a user,without hesitating, can simply send a friend request to any other user. Thus, this facility acts as a boon to many people, especially which are introvert, in order to make several friends. Furthermore, many matrimonial websites such as Matrimonial.com, which are similar to social sites, has proven to be a great matchmaker for couples. On the other hand, due to several demerits of social networking, society is being degraded. Primarily, a person addicted to these sites is generally found to have few actual friends with whom he can visit and share deeper emotions. As a result, by not sharing such intense emotions and feeling with loved ones, sometimes, leads to a person being trapped in depression which can even force him to take his life. For example, according to WHO, in 2018, 80% of cases of suicide were due to depression caused by being in a state of loneliness due to few friends. In addition, a person is found in the unorthodox situation in society on many occasion of happiness and sadness. It is primarily due to the fact that an individual who spends plenty of time on social sites, generally, found to have fewer friends in his vicinity. Due to this, on several important occasions such as marriage, birthdays and so on, he barely shares the state of happiness with others. Apart from that, in any medical emergency, it is mostly seen that friends, which are living nearer to someone, approach for help. Therefore, due to above-said reasons, persons dependent on social sites suffer from its negative effects. To encapsulate, although an individual can make a number of friends on social sites, yet, in my opinion, people become emotionally undeveloped due to excessive use of such sites, which is afflicting society.