Some people say that only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reason why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both the views and give your opinion?

It is believed by a few individuals that foreign language is only learnt because of travelling and working abroad. Nevertheless, others argue that other factors are also attributed to learning a foreign language. This essay shall delve into both the viewpoints along with my opinion in the end. Proponents of the former notion assert that the sole purpose of getting proficient in a language other than the mother tongue is either international trotting or seeking employment in foreign nations. This is primarily for a fact that efficient command on a foreign tongue proves to be beneficial while communicating to residents of host nations as well as applying for a job in abroad. This is especially true in case of Asian countries, where English is not a native language and their residents specifically learn English in an attempt to ease their travel abroad and achieve the desired occupation in other countries. However, others opine that apart from this motive of learning a foreign language, a few people have a purpose of enhancing their cognitive skills, particularly, the children, whose development progresses faster while learning another language along with the indigenous one. In fact, learning a second language has become mandatory in most of the schools worldwide and has been added to the academic syllabus of students. Owing to this, the interest has arisen in their minds and they tend to explore the diverse culture and traditions of other nations. Not only this, with the knowledge of another language, one becomes capable of reading books and understand the lifestyle of other nationalities. I endorse the latter view as employment and travelling are not the only reasons for learning a foreign language. I believe that a few people become proficient in other languages for the entertainment sake since they are more inclined towards watching the television programs of other countries. For instance, all American series are evidently fit in this situation, which is very popular around the globe. It is with their popularity among youngsters everywhere that they are keen to learn the English language to watch them. To conclude, although trotting and working abroad are evident reasons behind learning a foreign language, still more aspects are also there which entice the individuals to become bilingual.