In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cell phone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Nowadays, it is more common to carry out secure payments via numerous mobile apps in most of the developed countries. In my opinion, I think that there are several advantages associated with payments made through mobile apps despite the minor drawbacks that are part of this development. Despite the drawbacks below, I believe the benefits acquired by making mobile e- payments has far more advantages contributing to the country's economy. Firstly, it is extensively easy to pay using the various mobile apps, as it is time-saving and user friendly, and also avoids the risk of handling cash, especially for a large amount. The younger generation, for instance, is extremely fluent with cell phone apps when compared to the elderly group. Secondly, tech companies offer multiple lucrative deals to lure people into making payment through their registered apps. Finally, smartphone apps do not restrict their users to a specific geographic location. This gives the app consumers the freedom to pay for anything while being in their comfort zone. Admittedly, there are some issues involved in making payments via mobile apps. One problem is that, as all the transactions are carried out virtually in this method, there are possibilities for the transaction to fail. Furthermore, the user has to be more vigilant throughout the whole payment process, and also track the failed payments, if any. For example, few popular e-commerce giants, allow the user to track the failed payment, and re-do or cancel it. Another significant negative aspect is that, in most of the under-developed countries, the percentage of mobile app usage is still distinctively very low, and as a result, the minority users in rural areas will be ignorant of the mobile payment offers that are available. In conclusion, although there are numerous issues with payments made using smartphones, the development associated with the advantage of e- payments plays a vital in boosting a country's economy.