communication through text messaging and other instant forms of online communication are short and basic. Some people think this will be the death of grammar and spelling. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that text messaging apps have made communication between people easier than it was in the past. However, it is common to see people using abbreviation and wrong spelling when they are using those technologies. In my opinion, those apps can be a serious threat to the language because of the way people use it affects both grammar and spelling. To begin with, the manner that people use text messaging nowadays is leading everyone to learn erroneously. This is because people tend to type in the fastest way possible and to do that they ignore the right spelling of the words and the grammatical rules that should be followed. To illustrate, a lot of abbreviations and wrong spelling is used intentionally in these messages. As a result, how people do it often, they learn inadequate grammar rules and spelling. Furthermore, people are spending long hours reading those messages and using those apps, and less time reading good content, such as books or newspapers. This will affect directly the writing skills of everyone. If people do not read texts that, at least, have the proper use of the language, they will not develop their writing skills. On the contrary, they will learn inappropriately use of the language. In addition, more and more children are using those apps and this is a major concern because they are in the learning process and errors should be avoided during this phase. To sum up, it is a fact that people are using language in a wrong way due to text messaging. Wrong spelling and inaccurate use of grammar are easily found on those messages. I suggest that people read more texts written adequately to avoid those errors.