In the past when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In recent years, globalization has opened the gate for various opportunities abroad. Nowadays, students are preferring international universities to pursue higher education rather than studying from their home country. In this essay, we will discuss both merits and demerits of this psychological development. On one hand, studying from an international institute provides better job opportunities. Since most of the foreign universities have worldwide acceptance, their graduates become eligible to apply for work in numerous nations. For example, students who graduated from the University of Alberta, Canada can easily apply for jobs in the United States of America. Furthermore, learning abroad creates a better education experience for the students as they can learn from a different culture and a new perspective. To illustrate, in foreign colleges students meet people from other countries as well and since they all study together, they tend to learn from each other's culture and experience. On the other hand, foreign institutions charge higher fees as compared to colleges in the home country. Moreover, tuition fees for international students are always higher, be it India or any other country. For instance, the average cost of pursuing an MBA from an Indian university is approximately Rs. 2,50,000 per semester for citizens whereas for international students it is Rs. 5,00,000 per semester. Also, the youngsters have to face numerous difficulties in terms of culture, accommodation, food, lifestyle while settling in a different nation. To give an example, one of my close friend, who is pursuing a Masters from Germany and took more than 3 months to adjust in the new environment. To conclude, although higher studies from foreign countries demand high fees and sometimes causes discomfort in adjusting in the new surrounding, it also offers better learning platform and career opportunities at the global level to the students.