Cycling is a healthier and more environmentally friendly form of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons of this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

Bicycling is one of the healthiest forms of transportation but we have seen a drastic decline in terms of its number of users. We will discuss a few causes of this shift and ways in order to reverse this movement in the below essay. To commence with, the predominant reason behind the decline in the usability of bicycles as a mode of transport is because of the plethora options available which are faster and comfortable as compared to cycles in the modern world. Additionally, biking requires a huge amount of physical effort if adopted daily commuting. Since we are living in a fast-paced world and growing metropolitan cities, routine travelling distance has increased manifolds. As per the latest report published by the department of urban development, in the nineteen fifties,the average distance travelled per day by a citizen was fifteen miles compared to twenty-five miles in nineteen ninety-five. Hence, the introduction of finer options is the primary cause of this decline. Nevertheless, there is an urgent need for remedial steps by the concerned authorities to promote the activity and to counter the recent trend. Firstly, the public needs to be motivated to use bicycles as a mode of transport and not only as a hobby. Secondly, separate provisions in terms of road safety should be introduced. Thirdly, campaigns such as no car on a particular day of the weak should be organized. Hence, by employing the above methods we can reverse the trend. To conclude, bicycling has lost its popularity in recent times and there is a strong need some curative steps to reverse the graph in a positive direction.