Should children be taught to use a computer at a young age. Give the advantages and disadvantages to doing this.

The world has changed and that includes the internet and computers. The issue is how early and what is the optimum age for children to start using computers and spend long hours on them. This essay will examine both the advantages and disadvantages of this. There are undoubtedly many advantages to using computers from an early age. First, teaching the child computer skills is an excellent idea, as it will give them a head start on a skill that is necessary in today's world. Doing this, will also teach the child to be more independent and depend less on others. Computers are the way of the world today and it is used in a variety of ways. One important feature of the computer and the internet is the availability of information. Young students can search and research anything needed and there is a host of good websites available. Even though, this means more sitting in front of a computer screen, it is well worth it. Second, learning how to use computers is very useful for their future. Nowadays people need computers for many reasons. For example, people need it for their jobs. Students can use the computer to do research towards a master's degree. However, there are definitely some disadvantages to using computers from an early age. First, using computers contributes to a sedentary lifestyle. For example, instead of being with other children playing games and sports and burning energy, the kids are sitting in front of a screen for a greater length of time. Also, it is a problem because watching screens can negatively affect their eyes. Another danger is that they stumble into inappropriate sites and view things that are not permissible for young children. There are many websites that share videos that no one should, and that includes violence as well as adult content. Another idea to consider is that spending too much time on the computer will diminish their other skills, such as penmanship. Thus when they learn to use computers, they will not be excited about learning how to write with a pen. In conclusion, it is clear to see that there are multiple advantages to using computers from an early age. However, it is also true that there are some serious disadvantages that should be considered.