Companies should provide sports and social facilities for local communities. What extent do you agree?

In today's world, there is a large number of discussions on the topic of the provision of social and sports activities by companies located nearby. I believe that this measure will be beneficial for local communities and simultaneously will not put any obligations on firms which are going to provide these facilities. Firstly, this essay will answer the question, why local organisations should provide sport and social facilities and, secondly, it will analyse the other side of this scheme. On the one hand, firms that have a high level of revenue and could afford some additional expenditures should organise social events for habitants of the local area. This is because, in some cities, there is a lack of places where citizens could spend their time since the government might undersupply public goods. Therefore, if private associations invest more money in such kind of institutions as sports gyms it might encourage more people to visit a city and, hence, there might be a higher demand for the product produced by these businesses. As a result, not only will local community benefit from new entertainments but also companies that provide people with these places. On the other hand, businesses shouldn't be concerned about the infrastructure of the local area and the level of their development. This is because local authorities have to be aware of everything that happens and to try to improve it by investing in new facilities. For instance, in some countries, sports clubs are public goods since a state build them and people can easily access them for free. However, due to the fact that in some areas the authority doesn't pay a lot of attention to the events happening in the city, it might be inefficient to put all the responsibility on them. To conclude, I am firmly convinced that businesses should invest in the development of facilities for athletes and different kind of social events in order to improve the infrastructure of that place. Despite the fact that the government has to be responsible for the provision of public goods it might not put a lot of efforts to improve the situation.