Some people believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn, and should not have to pay tax to the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by many individuals that there shouldn' t be any taxes on their hard-earned money as they don' t get many facilities from the government. This essay partially disagrees with this notion as the government need money to run the system. To begin with, It is really painful to share our hard-earned money with the state when we don' t get any direct benefits for the same. Additionally, people felt cheated when they need to pay the taxes on their every purchase when they have already paid the taxes on their income. Moreover, the system doesn' t provide any financial security to them in case of any mishappening. For example, recently millions of people in India lose their job due to the Covid- 19 pandemic but none of them get any financial benefits from the state. However, I partially disagree with this viewpoint as we all received many indirect benefits from the government such as infrastructure, subsidies fuels, hospitals, schools and universities. Moreover, they provide a secure environment to us with the help of police and other forces. Additionally, the state runs many schemes in which poor people get subsidies food from the state. For example, Food Corporation of India has purchased 80 million ton of wheat and rice in 2019 and they have distributed this to the people who are below the poverty line. To conclude, not every taxpayer may get direct benefits from the government but I believe that it is really essential to run the system smoothly and it helps everyone either directly or indirectly.