Some feel that the effects of advertising are positive for individuals and businesses, while others think they are negative. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that advertising has positive influences on individuals and businesses, whereas others think the opposite. Although the latter view can be true to some extent, in my opinion, the former view seems to be more reasonable. On the one hand, advertising is believed to leave several detrimental implications for consumers and companies due to some reasons. In terms of individuals, people nowadays get overwhelmed when having too much exposure to an increasing number of advertisements such as banners and commercials on a daily basis. As a consequence, consumers are likely to be lured by the power of marketing techniques and make impulsive purchases which can be a waste of money. In addition, businesses have to allocate a huge amount of money for promotional campaigns besides covering the running costs. In other words, spending on advertisements will be unavoidable if companies want to publicize their brands, leading to some financial constraints for making breakthroughs in product development. On the other hand, I hold a firm belief that advertising can be considered as positive since it brings about numerous benefits to individuals and enterprises. First of all, it is undeniable that customers can have better shopping experiences thanks to advertisements. To be more specific, advertising can be deemed an effective form of commercial communication which demonstrates key features of a product, so consumers can be better informed and make wiser purchasing decisions. Secondly, regarding the beneficial impacts on businesses, I believe that advertising helps companies survive and develop in a competitive market. Through advertisements, businesses can enhance their brands’ image, contributing to more new potential customers and sales increases. In conclusion, although I accept that advertising can have some severe effects related to wasting money on unnecessary things and the lack of money to invest for improving products’ quality, I still strongly support the view that it benefits individuals and businesses in many ways such as demonstrating useful information for purchasers and increase the competitiveness of companies in the market.