Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Almost every country all over the world has one or more buildings that represent its history and are protected by governmental regulations. While some argue that these relics should be demolished to make room for modern constructions, I believe that historic buildings should be preserved due to their mental and economic values. On the one hand, heritage constructions bring to our life enormous benefits beyond our expectations. To be more specific, they play a significant role in enhancing our knowledge about the historical events that occurred in the country. Evidently, these landmarks reflect the historical timeline as well as the way our ancestors used to live. Take Independence Palace as an example, it stands as a testament to Vietnamese history and as a manifestation of 1960s architecture. By taking a fascinating insight into this building, Vietnamese can learn more about the struggle for independence and appreciate the value of freedom as well as form a sense of patriotism. On the other hand, some argue that old architectures are obstacles in the path of progression. They assume that their appearance is old-fashioned and does not fit into the plan of modern cities. However, multiple studies point out that historical relics are one of the most tourist destinations in the world. For example, London is renowned for many architectures such as Kensington Palace or Tower Bridge. Hence, by promoting these monuments, the government can increase the influx of visitors and thus earn a huge amount of profit. In conclusion, despite the argument that historical constructions should make way for new buildings, I am firmly believed that these architectures should be protected as they represent our heritage and earn revenue for the government.