Some people think that new houses should be built in the same style as older houses. Others believe that the local council should allow people to choose different designs for their houses. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people are convinced that urban buildings play a vital role in preserving the cultural heritage and protecting property values. On the other hand, other people consider it as an approach to significantly mitigates creativity and prevents development improvement. In this essay, I will elaborate on both these views and conclude with my opinion. To begin with, the importance of unifying the building design. First and foremost, traditional style ensures consistency and preserves civil heritage, which helps to contribute to the town's character and tourist appeal. For example, in Yemen's capital city Sanaa, most of the recent buildings were built in the same older buildings. Consequently, the unified design attracts tourists from around the globe to observe their culture. In addition, the uniform design can protect property values by maintaining a certain standard within neighbourhoods. For instance, the Riyadh Municipal has recently published new regulations on urban buildings. These new regulations helped to keep the values among the society by forcing them to follow the new standards. On the other hand, a few folks think that the diversity in accommodation style helps to encourage creativity and personal expression, making the neighbourhoods more dynamic. To give an example, Egyptian architecture is considered the most creative and innovative in the world due to the flexibility that the government provides. However, this caused an increase in the construction costs there. Moreover, different designs can accommodate modern living requirements and incorporate innovative features and new materials. To give an instance, Malaysian buildings are more green if we compare them with the Houses in Sanaa. In conclusion, there is a big debate about whether the housing style should be the same as the old housing style or allow design variety. Preserving the older design could help to keep the cultural heritage and protect the property values. However, it prevents both interior designers and scientists from unleashing their creativity and innovation. In general, I believe that the council should not be a barrier to urban development. Therefore, it is better if they allow individuals to choose the design they are comfortable with.