Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, other people think that zoos are useful to protect the rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is often argued that it is unethical to keep animals in captivity as wildlife is supposed to live in their natural habitats, therefore, all the zoos ought to be shut down. However, many believe that endangered species are well protected in zoos. In my opinion, I believe that although in some cases, animals suffer human cruelty, overall, zoos are beneficial to preventing the extinction of rare breeds. Obviously, there are many animal species being in danger of extinction nowadays, as their natural habitats have lost due to urbanization. For this reason, in order to prevent them from dying out, zoos are considered to be their new homes which provide a safe environment. Additionally, they offer breeding and rehabilitation programs to prepare those vulnerable animals before sending them back into the wild. Therefore, it seems to me that although being kept in enclosures might not be the best for them, it can prevent the extinction of endangered breeds. However, it is wildly acknowledged that many animals kept in zoos suffer cruelty at a hand of zookeepers and also visitors. What I mean by this is, in many places, some staff abuses those by either beating or neglecting them and this problem has been even getting worse by the thoughtless acts of the visitors. For instance, even though photographing is forbidden because of its negative impacts on some species such as damaging their eyes or making them stressed, many inconsiderate visitors ignore the rules and deliberately harm them without guilt. In conclusion, it is impossible to close all the zoos just because there are incidences of abusive acts towards animals in some places. Although they have some negative effects, I would maintain that generally, they are the key to preserving and protecting thousands of animals in danger.