Over population of urban areas has led to numerous problems. identify 1-2 serious ones, and suggest ways in which the government and individuals can tackle these problems

Overpopulation is the root cause of many problems such as illiteracy, poverty, and unemployment in the metropolitan cities. This essay first analyses the problems caused due to overpopulation in urban areas and then the solutions to curb them. To begin with, people around the globe requires a good amount of natural resources and employable opportunities to grow well. However, not every country is blessed with enough resources to provide a quality life to its citizens living in every corner. Thus, people migrated from the rural areas to the urban for better opportunities which disturb the balance of available resources which leads to unemployment. Moreover, it increases the stress on the available healthcare and the education structure. Additionally, it breaks the traffic and sanitation network as that system is not designed to handle the extra load. For instance, as per the survey from National Employment Agency, Mumbai top the charts in providing employment but another survey from the National Sanitization Bureo of India stating that Mumbai is the dirtiest city of India which is much obvious as the city is not designed to handle the stress of 18 million people. However, every problem has a solution and the overpopulation in urban areas can be addressed by generating equal opportunities in rural areas. Therefore, in this process, we first need to set up quality hospitals and schools in rural areas; it will not only generate employability but also encourages people not to migrate to the urban areas just for a better lifestyle. To add to that, the government should encourage industrialists to set up industries in rural areas that will generate employability as well as discourage the total dependency on the farming sector. For example, as per the data provided by the State Bank of India, 8 million people in the rural areas have taken a loan in the year 2019 for farming but only 30% returned back, rest becomes the non-performing assets. So, industries will help a lot to remove the dependencies from the farming sector. To conclude, overpopulation in  urban areas can only be curbed by generating equal opportunities in rural areas.