Governments should not have to provide care or financial support for elderly people because it is the responsibility of each person to prepare for retirement and support him or herself. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Elderly people should not get any care or financial support from the government, as it is the responsibility of each person to prepare for retirement and support themselves. I strongly disagree with this opinion. Many elderly people cannot afford to save for retirement or care for themselves and ultimately become a problem for the younger generations. Firstly, it is hard for most people to save money for retirement when they work low-income jobs. With rising inflation, many individuals struggle to afford groceries, let alone save for retirement. This makes them unable to care for themselves after retiring. If they can’t work after retirement or save up the needed money to get by, old people have to resort to other options available to them. This includes begging on the streets, asking for money from their children, and, in the worst cases, stealing money to buy food. Ultimately, this doesn’t solve any problems but just relocates them to young people who have to look out for their own retirement. Secondly, many elderly people need care for everyday tasks and help to survive in our fast-moving world. Whether it is just cooking tasks or answering important letters, many old people don't have the physical or mental strength to manage daily tasks. In addition, care homes cost a lot of money, which is a problem mentioned in the previous paragraph and therefore not an option for most. Moreover, not everyone has children, and often the younger generations can’t take care of their parents without sacrificing their own lives. In conclusion, the elderly don’t have the ability to care for themselves in old age, and without help, they will slowly die in their homes without being able to seek help. If the government doesn’t support the older population, many problems will arise, which have to be solved by the younger generations. Consequently, it is much cheaper to invest in care for the elderly than to leave them on their own. I believe that without the government helping their retired workforce, it will heavily affect the economy and the motivation of young people to work.