It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

It is generally believed that it is essential for a kid to identify and understand the good and bad at their childhood itself an if not, punishments can be helpful to sort out discrimination. Although it is needed at time of disobedience, I strongly disagree with the argument of penalizing a child in order to teach them ethics. This essay outlines the consequences of punishing in the name of correction and then comes to my opinion of encouraging the children to follow good habits without hurting them. To begin with, punishments affect the mental health of a young learner. It leads them to take a wrong decision instead of taking them in the right path. For example, A teacher sends a student out of the class and make her kneel down for not submitting the homework on time. Such erred actions completely drain her confidence and feel insulted in front of her classmates. As a result, since they are not mature enough to handle these situations, they push themselves into stress and finishes their life due to lack of proper counselling. Therefore, before giving punishments both teachers and parents need to consider twice for once. On the other hand, it is possible to make the children learn good habits through stories and small skits which is considered as the most effective way rather than punishing a kid. A toddler, for instance, learns how to be respectful to elders from a story that has been told by a teacher or grandparents and it stays with them for a long time. When there comes a situation of intolerance, in such case punishments like cutting down unwanted plants, clean their own room or toys and doing exercise can be given and it is quite fruitful too. To conclude, I would say that beating or hurting a child does not help them to lead a peaceful and beautiful life. There are many ways to teach them good behaviours like above said and that’s what followed in juvenile correction schools to again bring back the child into normal life.